• Current alerts (2) Click to view
    Current alerts 22 May 2022
    • Please note that the City is currently contacting customers to partake in an annual customer satisfaction study. These phone calls are being conducted by Ask Australia on behalf of the City of Stirling.

      Until further notice
    • Pedestrian Shared Path (PSP), Gwelup will be closed due to repairs from the 28 April 2022 to 27 May 2022.

      Until further notice
    Load More

Council elections

The City's council elections are held every two years on the third Saturday in October. The Mayor and Councillors are elected for four-year terms, with half of the Councillors terms concluding at each biennial election.

The City of Stirling holds postal elections, which are conducted by the Western Australian Electoral Commission using a ‘first past the post voting system’. This means the candidate with the highest number of votes wins. For more information, please visit the Western Australian Electoral Commission website.

Did you know?

In 2019, for the first time, the Mayor was elected by the community and will hold office for four years. The Deputy Mayor continues to be elected by, and from the Councillors, and holds office for two years.