City of Stirling 39th Council sworn in

23 October 2019

At a special council meeting last night, Mark Irwin was officially sworn in as the City’s first popularly elected Mayor as well as newly elected councillors forming the 39th City of Stirling Council.

One of Mayor Irwin’s first duties was to oversee the vote of Deputy Mayor in which Council elected Inglewood Councillor Bianca Sandri.

Mark Irwin welcomed the decision and said he was very much looking forward to working with Cr Sandri as part of a strong unified team.

“I would like to congratulate Cr Sandri on her appointment as Deputy Mayor,” Mayor Irwin said.

“Cr Sandri was recognised as one of the State’s leading business entrepreneurs at the Business News 40 under 40 Awards earlier this year and is a real inspiration to the community. She is a strong asset to our team with her expertise in planning and innovation and I look forward to working with her closely.”

Mayor Irwin also welcomed newly elected Councillors Felicity Farrelly (Coastal Ward), Chris Hatton (Hamersley Ward) and Lisa Thornton (Osborne Ward) on behalf of the City of Stirling’s 39th Council and thanked outgoing Councillor Giovanni Italiano for his tremendous contribution to the City as Councillor, including two terms as Mayor.

“Cr Italiano has worked tirelessly for the City of Stirling and on behalf of my fellow councillors I would like to thank him for his contribution and achievements to Council especially during his time as Mayor, including the Scarborough Beach redevelopment,” Mayor Irwin said.

The City of Stirling’s 39th Council is as follows:


Mark Irwin (Until 2023)

Deputy Mayor

Bianca Sandri (Until 2021)

BalgaCr Keith Sargeant

Cr David Boothman


Cr Felicity Farrelly

Cr Karen Caddy


Cr Stephanie Proud

Cr Elizabeth Re


Cr Chris Hatton

Cr Karlo Perkov


Cr David Lagan

Cr Bianca Sandri


Cr Joe Ferrante

Cr Suzanne Migdale


Cr Lisa Thornton

Cr Adam Spagnolo


Until 2023

Until 2021

Social Media Share this articleLinks below open in a new window

Back to news