The City of Stirling’s Heritage Management Strategy is complemented by a promotion program that seeks to encourage a positive image of the City's heritage.  One of the projects under the program is the History and Heritage Awards.

History and Heritage Awards

The City of Stirling History and Heritage Awards Program is a biennial event established to recognise the efforts made by individuals and groups in the conservation of the City's built environment and streetscape, and the promotion and enhancement of the City's history and heritage.  The Awards also aim to raise awareness of local history and heritage.
 **2018 Nomination Period Closed**

History Categories

Category 1:

Stirling Memories: A photograph with story

A pre-1990 photograph taken within the City of Stirling with attached story (up to 300 words)

Winner - $500.00: Jan Barac: Innaloo Home

Jan Barac.jpg

Runner up - $300.00: Ruth Guarino: Balcatta Market Garden

Ruth Guarino.jpg

Category 2:

Stirling Memories: A photograph with a caption

A pre-1990 photograph taken within the City of Stirling with a caption (up to 20 words)

Winner - $400.00: Roda Hatzistavridi: My mum Margaret Taylor as Miss Scarborough in 1956

Roda Hatzistavridi.jpg

Runner up - $200.00: Rae Kolb: Balga TAFE Typewriting Class, c1975

 Rae Kolb.jpg

Category 3:

Youth Entry Award

An entry for either of the above categories for those who are 15 years old and under.  All entries must be signed by a parent/guardian.

Winner – $100.00: Finn Crowley-Petroboni: Woolen Swimwear

Finn Crowley-Petroboni.jpg

Runner up - $50.00: Jude Crowley-Petroboni: Star Swamp

Jude Crowley-Petroboni.jpg                                          

If you have any queries regarding the History Categories of the Awards Program, please contact the Museum Curator on (08) 9205 8555 or email

Heritage Categories

Category One

Conservation of the Built Environment and Streetscape

This award is aimed at promoting the conservation of heritage places in the built environment. These places may include, for example, a building or group of buildings, a private garden or a public park, ruins or a streetscape.

Sub-categories include:

  • Conservation or restoration of a heritage place
  • Sensitive adaptation of a heritage building
  • Excellence in design and construction of infill buildings in a heritage area
  • Landscaping, gardens and places.


Category Two

Education and Promotion of Heritage

This award may be presented to an individual or group who has made an outstanding contribution towards the education of and promotion of the heritage of the City of Stirling.

High Commendation: Peter Conole Peter Conole.jpg

Winner: Roger ElmittRoger Elmitt.jpg

Category Three

The Barrie Baker Special Recognition Award

This award may be presented where it is considered an achievement deserves special commendation, or there is the need to recognise an achievement that does not fall within another category.

No winners were announced in this category in 2018.

If you have any queries regarding the Heritage Categories of the Awards Program, please contact City Planning on (08) 9205 8555 or email

Previous Winners

Heritage Awards Winners 2016

Heritage Awards Winners 2014

Heritage Awards Winners 2012

Heritage Awards Winners 2010

Heritage Awards Winners 2008

Heritage Awards Winners 2006 

Heritage Awards Winners 2003