The City of Stirling Council is comprised of 14 Elected Members elected to seven Wards. Each Ward is represented by two Councillors.

Local government elections are held every two years on the third Saturday in October. 

The Councillors are elected for four year terms, with half of the Councillor's terms concluding at each biennial election. The Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected by and from the Councillors and hold office for two years.

The City holds postal elections, which are conducted on the City's behalf by the Western Australian Electoral Commission and held under a first past the post voting system, whereby the candidate with the highest vote wins.

The Commission appoints a Returning Officer who oversees the elections which includes taking candidate nominations and supervising the count on election night.

Voting in elections

Election voting packages are posted to all electors for the City of Stirling approximately three weeks before Election Day.

Every person appearing on either the Residents Roll or the Non-Residents Owners and Occupiers Roll will be issued a ballot by mail and invited to complete the ballot and return it to the City by 6.00pm on Election Day.

The count commences from 6.00pm that same day and the results are normally available later that evening.

Past Election Results

Full election results, including votes received by each candidate are available from the Western Australian Electoral Commission website.