The City of Stirling Council is comprised of 14 Councillors elected to seven Wards. Each Ward is represented by two Elected Members.

Local government elections are held every two years on the third Saturday in October. 

The Councillors are elected for four year terms, with half of the Councillors' terms concluding at each biennial election. The Mayor and Deputy Mayor are elected by and from the Councillors and hold office for two years. Commencing in 2019 there will be 14 Councillors with equal representation across the seven wards and the office of the Mayor as civic leader. The method of filling the office of the Mayor will be by the electors and the Mayor will hold office for four years.

The City holds postal elections, which are conducted by the Western Australian Electoral Commission and held under a first past the post voting system, whereby the candidate with the highest number vote of wins.

The Commission appoints a Returning Officer who overseas the elections which includes taking candidate nominations and supervising the count on election night.

Voting in elections

Election voting packages are posted to all electors of the City of Stirling approximately three weeks before Election Day.

Every person enrolled on either the Residents Roll or the Non-Residents Owners and Occupiers Roll will be sent a postal vote and invited to complete the ballot and return it to the City by 6.00pm on Election Day.

The count commences from 6.00pm that same day and the results are usually available later that evening.

Past Election Results

Full election results, including votes received by each candidate and the results of the referendum held in conjunction with the 2017 election are available on the Western Australian Electoral Commission website.